NEW SONG: Lil Uzi Vert feat. Pharrell- “Neon Guts”

And I gotta colorful auraaaa like I got neon guts.

Lil Uzi Vert just released his debut album, Luv Is Rage 2, and there is one song on the album in particular that stands out from the rest and it’s called “Neon Guts” featuring Pharrell Williams. Anyone that listens to Lil Uzi Vert knows he’s a big fan of Pharrell and the music he produced in the 2000’s. When I read the track listing I was surprised to see Pharrell featured on the album but also happy for Lil Uzi because I know he’s a huge fan of Pharrell. Them on a track together, I wasn’t expecting much just because I figured their styles would clash on a song… but I have to remember this is Pharrell we’re talking about.

Of course the song begins with Pharrell’s iconic four-count that he has used frequently over the years, and the beat drops and turns into this beautiful xylophone infused-like trap beat with crazy bass. This is possibly the best beat of the year. Lil Uzi Vert, to me, has one of the best ears for beats out of these newer rappers. He always picks beats that like no one else would touch but in a good way. He picks beats he knows he can do well on that others might stray from, and that’s why I am a fan of his. I also enjoy how he and Pharrell were going back and forth on this song after the second verse, so good. I’m happy Pharrell is coming back to rap, he’s needed.

If you haven’t already, check out Luv Is Rage 2.

Leave a Reply

